Call for Papers

3rd Workshop on
Approaches and Applications of Inductive Programming
(AAIP 2009)

associated with the
International Conference on Functional Programming
(ICFP 2009)

4 September 2009, Edinburgh, Scotland

*** Submission Deadline 11 May 2009 ***

Submission is now closed!

Submission deadline extended to May 25th, 2009!


Inductive Programming is concerned with the automated construction of declarative (often functional) programs from incomplete specifications such as input/output examples. This inductive type of automated program synthesis has been originally addressed by researchers in artificial intelligence and machine learning. During the last years, some work on exploiting induction techniques has been started also in the functional programming community.

This is the third workshop on "Approaches and Applications of Inductive Programming" and takes place for the first time in conjunction with ICFP.

AAIP'09 aims to bring together researchers from the field of inductive functional programming and present and compare the different approaches with respect to their scope and efficiency. Furthermore, challenge problems for inductive programming which can be of interest to the functional programming community will be discussed. Finally, potential applications of inductive programming, especially the potential of such approaches for their use as programming assistants shall be discussed. We hope that this workshop advances fruitful interactions between the functional programming and the inductive functional programming communities.

We invite authors to submit papers in either of two categories: technical papers and work in progress reports. Topics of interest are theoretical approaches to and algorithms or applications of inductive programming. Technical papers should present mature work on up to 12 pages. Additionally, extended abstracts (up to two pages) can be submitted to report work in progress.


It is our pleasure to announce the following invited speakers:

  • Lennart Augustsson (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Pieter Koopman and Rinus Plasmeijer (University of Nijmegen)
  • Neil Mitchell (Standard Chartered)


Accepted technical papers will be presented orally (20 min. talk and 10 min. discussion). Accepted work in progress reports will be presented as posters. Workshop proceedings will be published online and as technical report. Furthermore, we plan to publish revised and selected papers as post-proceedings volume at Springer LNCS/LNAI.


  • Submissions of technical papers should be no longer than 12 pages, including bibliography and appendices. Submissions of work in progress reports should not be longer than 2 pages. Both paper types should follow the ICFP submission policy. The 10pt document template for LaTeX available from SIGPLAN should be used to prepare the document:
  • Submission should be sent as EMail attachment as PDF to the workshop organizers using the following address: martin[DOT]hofmann[AT]uni-bamberg[DOT]de
  • Submitted papers must have content that has not previously been published in other conferences or refereed venues, and simultaneous submission to other conferences or refereed venues is unacceptable.


Submission deadline11 May 2009
Author notification05 June 2009
Final paper due22 June 2009
Workshop04 September 2009


  • Schmid, Ute, University of Bamberg
  • Plasmeijer, Rinus, Radboud University Nijmegen
  • Kitzelmann, Emanuel, University of Bamberg
  • Technical Support: Martin Hofmann, University of Bamberg


  • Pierre Flener, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Lutz Hamel, University of Rhode Island, Kingston, USA
  • Jose Hernandez-Orallo, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
  • Johan Jeuring, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Susumu Katayama, University of Miyazaki, Japan
  • Emanuel Kitzelmann, University of Bamberg, Germany
  • Pieter Koopman, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • Oleg G. Monakhov, Russian Academy of Sciences, Siberian Branch, Russia
  • Ricardo Aler Mur, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
  • Roland Olsson, Ostfold College, Norway
  • Rinus Plasmeijer, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • Maria José Ramírez Quintana, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
  • Ute Schmid, University of Bamberg, Germany